OhThisClassroomGlows

Create, Be Curious, Learn, have Fun and GLOW

Our Week with A Winnipeg Day writing!

on May 19, 2016

IMG_3054 IMG_3042 IMG_3041 IMG_3040 IMG_3037 IMG_3034 IMG_3031 IMG_3016 IMG_3003 IMG_2996 IMG_2998 IMG_3001

A Winnipeg Day writing continues this week. We began brainstorming appropriate Winnipeg locations to visit in the morning, afternoon and evening. Students took their own experiences with Winnipeg and thought of places they love around the city and some did places they would really like to see or visit. We came up with over 60 places to visit in Winnipeg! Students worked in groups first to brainstorm all of the ideas. Then I asked them to think about their own A Winnipeg Day and come up with 4 (or more) places to visit in Winnipeg. They thought about whether they would visit these places in the morning, afternoon or evening and then took those ideas and began creating their first page of their own A Winnipeg Day.

So far, they are beyond unbelievable!

Here are some samples:

Good morning Prairie 360, you are one of the tallest buildings in Winnipeg. You are so tall I can see the whole city. I’m gonna eat pancakes and scrambled eggs. Did you know people live in apartments in Prairie 360? (Jory)

 

Good Morning Montrose School, I am going to play on the play structure. I am going to slide. WHeeeeeeeeeee! That was so AWESOME! Let’s go to the far park and go on the swing. That was fun, now I want to go on the BIG rock wall. Yea! I made it to the top. Now I am going to jump off.  (Luca C)

 

Good Morning butterfly, can you tell me where the most butterflies hang out? My favourites are the black and green ones.  (Julia)

 

Aloha MTS Centre, could you show me where Box 35 is please so I can watch the hockey game? I wonder who will win? The Jets Win!! The Jets were versing the Manitoba Moose.  (Giuseppe)

 

We still plan do some editing and revising and settle into writing the rest of the pages in our books. We have BIG plans for these books! The students want to do their very own BOOK LAUNCH!! I am meeting with McNally to see if we perhaps could do a Book Launch there. Not too sure if it is possible, but it is definitely worth asking. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes. Also, the mayor is following us on twitter and (hello Mr. Mayor Brian Bowman) he is FOLLOWING OUR BLOG!!! The Mayor really loves Winnipeg and I know he is going to love hearing our A Winnipeg Day books when we are finished. Room 122 students for sure will invite him to our book launch and if he is around and able to fit it into his schedule, I know he will try to make it too.

We keep on writing these spring days away! The Winnipeg Spirit is pretty strong in Room 122!!

 


8 Responses to “Our Week with A Winnipeg Day writing!”

  1. Joanne says:

    Can’t wait to see all the A Winnipeg Day stories! There is so much to do in our great city, I look forward to all of Room 122’s suggestions! Our family likes to go to the BDI after dinner on a summer night!

  2. Michael Fernie says:

    I like all the brainstorming and group work. It looks like a very cooperative classroom.

  3. Jessica (Jory's Mom) says:

    You are all so creative in room 122! Our family went to Prairie 360 and it was such an amazing view of Winnipeg from up there. Jory thought it was a pretty cool place! I can’t wait to read your book. Happy writing!

  4. Colleen H-squared says:

    Wow, you are doing such interesting things Room 122! I enjoyed all the pics of you hard at work. Room 129 would love to read your stories when they’re ready. If you need any help with editing and revising, remember your big kid friends just down the hall.

  5. Tom Skinner says:

    Keep the writing going, Winnipeg will soon be the destination of choice for the world!

  6. Tamara says:

    All of your great ideas for places to visit in Winnipeg are just in time for summer. We love to go on new adventures and are always looking for new things to see and do! I am looking forward to reading more of your stories!
    Tamara 😀👍🏻👏☀️🚲

  7. Kristin Dulay says:

    What an amazing bunch of students! I look forward to your book launch and will definitely have to have all the authors sign my copy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar