OhThisClassroomGlows

Create, Be Curious, Learn, have Fun and GLOW

Winnipeg By Winnipegers

on May 12, 2016

Today we asked the simple question, What is Winnipeg? The answers were awesome! Everything from our home, the capital city of Manitoba, buildings downtown, good schools, Jazzfest, Folklorama, Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Winnipeg Jets – to safe, fun, cheerful, friends, four seasons, heart of Gold and so much more. We created a class bulletin board of our best answers and are going to tweet it to our Mayor!

It was done with great enthusiasm and we all agreed Winnipeg is a great place to live!

IMG_2870

IMG_2879

Today we also had an opportunity to work with our Reading Clinician, Monique. A Winnipeg Day writing is coming along nicely. She is UNREAL in the classroom setting.  It is always nice to have experts teacher learners in the room. I am learning so much from her, as are the students. Today’s lesson was focused on editing and revising. Students focused on three elements:

  1. Proper or appropriate punctuation
  2. Spelling – circle words the group thought may be spelled incorrectly
  3. Adding “delicious” describing words

IMG_2882

Monique and I modeled first with ours. Students then got into their groups and revised their work from last week. Then we did a class gallery walk with an expert staying at the table to read their groups learning. We welcomed students to piggy back ideas and make notice of what other groups had done or used in their writing.  Groups then came together again and were given a brief period to add to their writing. Then it was sharing time! We all came together, Monique and I read ours that we had added to and the groups were invited to come and read/share their writing with the class. Students always LOVE this part, they really do glow when sharing their work!

IMG_2885 IMG_2887 IMG_2889 IMG_2890 IMG_2895 IMG_2901 IMG_2903 IMG_2906 IMG_2908

 

***For the first time ever, I took some pictures and videos of the group share and I am going to show the class the videos. I think it will be so interesting for them to see what they look like while they present and I believe it will help them to grow as group presenters.***

Next steps are to think about time of day and appropriate places around Winnipeg to visit in relation to those times. I can’t wait to hear what the students will come up with!

 

Side Note: I hope you followers noticed my inserting of digital technology and more pictures! I’m learning more and more all the time! I’m quite impressed with myself! 


7 Responses to “Winnipeg By Winnipegers”

  1. Mr. Stefaniuk says:

    Young Montrosians… you have lived very rich lives in your home city. Did you know that you can see the Royal Winnipeg Ballet dance in the park during the summer time? It is one of my favourite things to do in the summer time.

  2. Shale (Meadow's Dad) says:

    We had some difficulty finding the blog, however I have discovered that the best way to find it is to just go to google and search for “ohthisclassroomglows”. If you do that you come up with two listings for your classroom. You guys are now in the big leagues as you are listed on google!

    One of my favourite things about Winnipeg is the Winnipeg Folk Festival. Meadow has been coming with me since she was a baby and we have a lot of fun!

    • ohthisclassroomglows says:

      We are totally in the big leagues!! Glad you found us! Meadow was worried 😉👍🏻

  3. camielawson says:

    Greetings Room 122!
    You know how much I love writing workshop and even though I am not in your room anymore- I love that I can still keep in touch through your blog.
    Ahhhh.. Winnipeg. I love our amazing city. The people, the landscape and traditions are what make our city so special. One of my favourite things to do is to visit the forks and walk across the Provencher bridge- what a sight with the Human Rights Museum right there.
    Can’t wait for your next post!
    Guess what? I am working on my own blog right now too!

    Camie

  4. Rossing Fam says:

    What a wonderful tool to share the learning!! Matteo has been super excited to share his learning and we have put many sites on our “Summer Bucket List”!!

  5. Kyla Brignall says:

    I love hearing about the dynamic learning in the classroom! What a great way to learn. Room 122, you have a great teacher!

    We love to explore Winnipeg throughout the seasons as best as we can. We have so many great parks and festivals to attend. Harrison and I make a list of where we can go and explore. The summer list is always the busiest!

  6. Tuulikki says:

    Very impressive blog. Great to see all the fun activities and adventures the children are experiencing. Keep exploring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar