OhThisClassroomGlows

Create, Be Curious, Learn, have Fun and GLOW

Blogging Feels….

on May 3, 2016

I am not a person born in the 2000’s, but sometimes I like to talk like it!:)  And emoticon like it! :0 )

I have been blogging for about 12 days now and I am loving it! So far, it’s just been my own voice blogging… don’t worry, those grade 1/2 student voices are coming soon! They are excited! So excited! They can’t wait to share their learning in this way! So far, it has been fairly easy for me to blog. The blog post topics come kind of naturally. OK, to be honest I was kind of “winging it” with the first one and the next two I had written in my mind over the past few weeks. Today, I blogged about a Professional Development I will attend over the next two days. That one was easy.

As I do with all most new things I try (and totally have my students do ALL. THE. TIME.), I have begun the process of reflecting about my blogging journey. What have I liked, what have I discovered, what have I learned, what do I want to know more about. I plan to start blogging with my students on Thursday and I want them to know I have been thinking about it lots, learning within my blogging. I’m not an expert, not even close.


So here it goes, my reflections thus far:

  • I love how reflective blogging actually is. It helps me to clear my head a little. It reminds me of cleaning the kitchen after the kids go to sleep, when you actually get to think about the funny things they said or appreciate how crazy their hair was when they woke up in the morning. Blogging allows me to think about learning and put different things into perspective.
  • I love how it helps me to set learning goals for myself and my students. It makes me think about what the next steps will be and I’m blogging about them (ie. publishing them) so I think about the chronological order I need to do things in so we can complete our goals and make them happen! Yes, of course I always did plan for my students learning and I set goals for each and every one of them. But blogging allows me to re-visit my goals, it allows people to comment on the process, it enables parents and grandparents (and my parents; Hi Dad!!) to get excited about the learning that is and will happen in our classroom. We are able to recognize our own learning faster, see it and make next steps quicker. It’s the year 2016 and I am embracing this new way of communicating our “inquiries”, committing to our learning, listening to your comments about the process and living the benefits that come from all of this. 
  • I can’t wait to see what we have achieved! I can’t wait to look back and see the journey of the learning, the thinking, the guiding, see everything!! This blog is a digital memory box of our classroom. And it’s only just beginning!!
  • I want to introduce you all to the volunteers who tirelessly come in and read with Room 122 students each week.
  • I want to link articles that I read/watch/see so you can read/watch/see them too.
  • I want to know how to get headers at the top of my blog so I can categorize information (Upcoming events, Volunteers we love, A calendar, About Us, etc.)
  • I want to add more media to my posts and make them more interactive.
  • I want to get followers commenting more – Be a digital volunteer! Students love hearing the comments.
  • I want to continue to be honest and have you hear my own voice and the voices of my beautiful students.

 

We continue to move forward, thanks for following. Bet you can’t wait to hear/see what Room 122 students have to say in their first blog post!! Watch for it!

 

 

 

 


4 Responses to “Blogging Feels….”

  1. Joanne says:

    Love your enthusiasm and enjoying your posts! Looking forward to the children’s contribution too!

  2. Kristin Dulay says:

    I love this idea and have enjoyed reading your last few posts. As parent that can’t make it into volunteer and see first hand what the students are doing. I am grateful for technology as now I can still stay connected and informed. It also opens up new conversations with Quintin, because instead of asking the same old questions “how was school? What did you do?” and getting the usual responses of “fine” “recess was fun”….I can ask more specific questions. So I truly appreciate this! I look forward to hearing from the kid’s!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar